Disaster Recovery ¶
- We strongly recommend that you enable Server Self-Backup before any disaster recovery is needed.
- For recovery, you will need to obtain the last zipped Server Self-Backup file from just before the incident happened.
Server Loss ¶
If you experience a server loss (fire, theft, disaster, ransomware), then you need to do the following:-
- Reinstall a fresh copy of Comet server on the new machine (download the software from here: https://account.cometbackup.com/downloads)
- Unzip the Server Self-Backup file and overwrite the contents of Windows C:\ProgramData\Comet and Linux/Unix /var/lib/cometd/.
- You will need then to login and 'relax' the serial to allow a new server to operate your account: https://cometbackup.com/my_servers
- Once done, the new Comet server will be at the same state as was the previous one at the time of the backup, including all of the client configuration data. You may need to alter DNS records, IP addresses, etc to match the new machine.
Notes for Step 1:
- You will need your Comet account email and password to install Comet Server.
- A video tutorial on setting up the server is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jen7TdenIrM
- After the initial activation, the remainder of the Comet Server settings are basically irrelevant, as they will be overwritten in step 2, so just accept the defaults.
Client Device Loss ¶
If the user loses a device, then all that is needed to recover backed-up data, is the following:-
- Install a fresh copy of the Comet client software on the new device, using the original username and password.
- Verify that it shows as 'Online' in the admin web interface -> Accounts -> Users -> name -> Devices.
- Perform a 'Restore' function as needed.
- When complete, 'Revoke' the lost device-listing in the admin web interface -> Accounts -> Users -> name -> Devices.
- If the user password is unknown, then it can be reset via admin web interface -> Accounts -> Users -> name -> Actions -> Reset Password.
- If the user has disabled password reset for you as admin, then the user must supply the current password for the installation step. The password can be changed by the user at a later stage.
- When installed, and verified as online, you may need to check any new or changed locations of Protected Items on the new device.